Golden Day

On Tuesday, Sam, Seth, and I went out exploring. One of the places we visited was my favorite town…Golden. The town is small, quaint, picturesque, nostalgic….in other words, perfect. We parked at a park where McKenna was fascinated by the geese hovering near the creek flowing by. We walked around the town some, looking at the interesting businesses lining the quaint streets. We were there at lunchtime and decided to eat at a place called Old Capitol Grill. Sam ordered a BBQ combo plate, and Seth and I both had bison burgers. The food there was delicious!

When we left Golden, we went to Boulder and walked around the Pearl Street Mall. There, I found the souvenir I was looking for…a gold-plated Aspen leaf pendant. I bought myself one when I was in Colorado 15 years ago, but sometime since then I lost it, and I’ve wanted another one ever since. I wanted to take a picture of this unique shopping place, but it was raining the whole time we were there. Nonetheless, I found this photo online that captures it the way I saw it, minus the rain.

The boys expressed interest in going hiking, but the rain negated that idea. So, from Boulder we headed to downtown Denver and the 16th Street Mall (which is similar to the Pearl Street Mall in Boulder). Because of the rain, we nixed that idea and headed back to our hotel in Castle Rock. While the boys went to visit a friend of Sam’s who lives there, I fell fast asleep. With all the walking I did, at an altitude I’m not used to, I was exhausted; and I had to get up very early the next morning to get back on the road again.

Leave a Reply

