On the Road Again

I’ve always been a traveler…well, until about 14 years ago. Up to that point, I had been to 42 states, but since then I’ve been hardly anywhere. Today that changed. Sam and I have set off on our first cross-country road trip in a long time. We crossed the Mississippi for the first time in 14 years, and Sam’s friend Seth, who is traveling with us, saw the Mississippi for the first time ever.

Despite our excitement for this long-awaited trip, today was a less-than-ideal travel day. Still, I have several reasons to praise God, and here are a few of them:

  1. We made it safely to our destination, which is Seminole, Oklahoma.
  2. It didn’t rain ALL day. During the few non-rainy hours, the weather was as perfect as possible for traveling.
  3. I was the one driving when we blew a tire, no one was hurt during the incident, Sam and Seth were able to get the spare tire put on, and it happened during one of the few times when it wasn’t raining.
  4. Sam was able to drive some, allowing me to not have to drive all the 932 miles myself. He’s a good, safe driver, so the rest of us were able to relax while he was behind the wheel. In the photos below, Seth was conked out in the front seat, and McKenna was sprawled out on the back seat, squeezing me into a little corner between him and the door.

 

     

McKenna was a source of both frustration and humor. He kept trying to get up front to sit on either Seth’s head or my lap. Since my car is a wagon, I thought he would enjoy lying down in the back area behind the back seat; but he couldn’t seem to decide whether to sit back there or on the seat. So, quite often, as I would look in the rearview mirror, I would see him in a position like the one in the  first picture below, undecided about whether to sit on the seat or go all the way to the back. Finally, toward the end of the day, he calmed down enough to sit still for quite some time, just looking out the window.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

