Cousin of the Groom

The wedding was beautiful. It was outside, at a farm. We had to drive down a long dirt road to get to it, and at one point I just knew I had somehow missed it and was about to turn around when Seth pointed out the next “Wedding” sign that let us know we were still on the right track.

It was so good seeing my cousin Allen (a.k.a. Neil) again, and I was delighted to meet his gorgeous bride Stephanie. I hadn’t seen Allen since I was about 10 or 11, but he reminds me so much of my Uncle Neil that I think I would have known him anywhere. I’ve talked with Stephanie some on Facebook, and it was so nice to finally meet in person. Don’t they make a beautiful couple?!

I’ve seen outdoor weddings before, but never one with hay bales for seating. What an ingenous idea! They were practical and more comfortable than some chairs, not to mention the fact that they fit in so well with their surroundings. (I confess…the real reason I liked sitting on the hay was because I finally found a place to sit where my feet could touch the ground instead of dangling.)

In the wedding, they incorporated the old custom of handfasting. I had heard of it before, but I’m not sure if I had ever seen it. It’s a very sweet picture of uniting with each other in marriage.

The boys enjoyed the wedding, though probably not as much as I did. What they enjoyed most was the ribs we had for dinner afterward. McKenna got to enjoy a few rib bones as well, so it was a good day for all. We all agreed that we were glad we were able to attend.

I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to get a selfie with my cousin, since who knows when I’ll ever see him again. So, here we are. Congratulations, Neil and Stephanie. I love you both!

 

Leave a Reply

